SDHSCA Coach of the Year Honors for Winter 2018

The South Dakota High School Coaches Association has announced the Coach of the Year Awards for the Winter of 2018 (Other nominees listed below each winner):

Gymnastics – Caitlin Steffensen, Deuel

(Rachelle Engelbrecht, Brookings; Vicky Fisher, Watertown; Justin Olson, Yankton; Audra Rew, Mitchell)

Wrestling – Jeremy Swenson, Canton

(John Donovan, Chamberlain; Travis King, Rapid City Stevens; Shawn Lewis, Pierre; Corbin Surat, Howard)

Girls’ Basketball – Leslie Tvedt, Castlewood

(Jim Bridge, Hanson; Brandon Kandolin, St. Thomas More; Dawn Seiler, Aberdeen Central)

Boys’ Basketball – Chris Haynes, Yankton

(Scott Langerock, Harrisburg; Jerome Nesheim, Clark/Willow Lake; Michael Ricke, Madison; Brian White, Sully Buttes)

Athletic Director – Bud Postma, Madison

(Bill Clements, Dakota Valley; Terry Rotert, Huron; Randy Marso, Brandon Valley; Joey Struwe, Sioux Falls Lincoln)

Official – Andy Deinert, Mitchell

(Jeremy Grady, Salem; Eddie Heisinger, Piedmont; Nicole Hovdestad, Sioux Falls; Terry Jastram, Sioux Falls; Timberly Lunde, Watertown; Carla Snedeker, Mitchell; Randy Thomas, Rapid City)


Last year’s winners:

Gymnastics – Justin Olson, Yankton

Wrestling – Matt Donnelly, Kadoka Area/Philip/Wall

Girls’ Basketball – Mark Senftner, Sully Buttes

Boys’ Basketball – Scott Schultz, Bridgewater-Emery

Athletic Director – Clay Anderson, Belle Fourche

Official – Mark Wendelgass, Huron


This group will be recognized at the annual awards banquet to be held at a date still to be determined.