Regents approve instate tuition rates for six states around South Dakota

PIERRE, S.D. (WNAX) – Students from six states around South Dakota will be able to pay instate tuition rates at public universities.

The Board of Regents approved the policy at their meeting at Northern State University in Aberdeen this week.

Regents President Kevin Schieffer says they have seen good results from the pilot programs.

Schieffer says they have some targets to hit.

Schieffer says the policy could help control instate tuition rates.

The “South Dakota Advantage” program is for students from Wyoming, North Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa and Colorado. There is already a reciprocity agreement with Minnesota. The policy begins with the 2019 summer term.